mark_asphodel: Sage King Leaf (Default)
[personal profile] mark_asphodel
Not sure how I feel about the guy.

And I say "guy" and not "kid" although even his age is a little murky. Based on internal FE4 dating-- Sigurd's comment that Celice is "not even two" in Chapter 5 plus the seventeen-year time skip-- Celice is pushing nineteen in Chapter Six, close to twenty by Chapter Ten[*], and thus firmly in the class of adult lords along with FE3!Marth, FE10!Ike, and Sigurd himself. Yet he's presented as being only a year older than Leaf... who turns sixteen in 776. Celice starts off on his quest in 777. Something does NOT add up here.
 
[If Celice was indeed born in 759, it'd have to be in the early months, with Leaf born toward the very end of 760. One calendar year apart, but 18+ months apart in time.]

Celice has a lot of good qualities. He's not an impulsive, reckless idiot. He's not a bumbler. He doesn't know a lot, and he has to be led, but it's nothing close to the ignorant and passive presentation of Marth in FE3. He listens to advice. He's thoughtful. I realize these are mostly attributes presented in the negative, an absence of objectionable traits, but that's basically my problem with Celice. There's not a lot about him that sticks out; he's a curiously passionless leader. While some of the supporting cast are characterized by flashes of anger and worse, I think the biggest reaction that Celice shows to anything is when he seems grossed out by the idea of people worshiping him. He's neither hot-blooded nor cold-blooded... just tepid. Maybe it's the game's way of showing how Celice deserves his exalted position, that he's above it all, but it makes it hard for me, personally, to ever squee about the guy.
 
And, of course, Celice makes love like he makes war. Regardless of which girl you pair him with, there's no heat being generated; his affections for Lana or Lakche or whomever you choose don't really seem much different from his non-romantic fondness for Julia. There's certainly nothing like Marth's tongue-tied confession to Caeda or Eliwood's grand declaration to Ninian. There's not even the slappy-kissy sort of heat. The individual quirks of all his lover conversations in the final chapter are dictated by the girl (cunning Patty, so-sorry-for-Julia Lana, irrepressible Fee) while Celice is just... nice and thoughtful and mostly serious and neither objectionable nor exceptional in any way. Fee says he's "like a dream," but that's kind of the truth-- Celice is a teenager's hazy dream of The Perfect Guy-- no edges, no innuendo, catering to the needs of each individual girl instead of imposing his own presence on the dialogue. Leaf, OTOH, has priorities that clearly consist of WELFARE OF NEW THRACIA!!11 >>>> wife. His chosen woman, whether Nanna-Janne-or-Tinny, is useful and desirable to him as queen, a helpmeet, and presumably as a broodmare for heirs[**]. Useful to him as far as serving the needs of New Thracia go. I'm not saying that's a good thing, but it shows how forcefully Leaf is characterized in FE4 compared with Celice. Leaf re-centers every conversation around his own overriding desires; Celice delicately meets the ladies on their own conversational ground.

[Leaf got softened up in FE5, wherein he dodges a good-on-paper political marriage in favor of Banging My Troubadour Sister 101.  Nonetheless, I think it's safe to say he will never be Cuan Jr. when it comes to pleasing his bride at his kingdom's expense.]
 
I'd compare him to Roy, another low-key Lord, but Roy has something critical that Celice doesn't: friends. Celice has no bosom buddy; if he's in thick with any of the Tirnanogue kiddies, we never see it. If he develops a friendship with Aless, we don't see it. He and Leaf are predisposed to like and respect one another, but-- Leaf's raging inferiority complex aside-- we don't see them function as any sort of dynamic duo. They meet up in Chapter 7 and Leaf spends the entire rest of the game hanging out with his own people, concerned with his own problems. I think two of Celice's most personable moments are his late-game conversations with Shanan and Oifaye, not with anyone in his own age group (the secret conversation with Mana is good, though). But he doesn't have a Wolt or a Merric, much less a Hector. Or a Soren.
 
Of course, he gets a ton of screen time with Levin, but they're not really... friends. That dynamic's too complex, and Levin's the dominant character in it.
 
So, Celice. He's not a bad character or a poorly-written one, and I suspect that his isolation is partly deliberate. He's the Imperial Prince, the Child of Light-- it's hard to be bros with the Messiah. And being The Child of Light likely means that Celice, by design, is supposed to be exempt from the dodgy behavior that some of his peers and subordinates engage in. He's not openly fantasizing about crushing his half-brother's skull or strangling Alvis with his bare hands. Celice doesn't hate. Celice doesn't rage. Celice doesn't [fill in verb of your choice here].
 
Celice. Doesn't.
 
I might like him more if he did.
 
* Chapters Six through Nine only take about a year, which seems implausible until you remember they spent almost all of that time messing around in the Thracian peninsula.

**This actually explains the canon-blessed status of the otherwise oddball pairing of Leaf and Tinny-- she's basically the Princess of Alster (Miranda who? Miranda what?) and makes a lovely political option for Queen of New Thracia, whereas the girls who don't offer Leaf any advantage on his home turf don't get blessed. FE4!Leaf would probably marry Corple if he thought that would help solidify his kingdom.

Date: 2012-08-15 09:16 pm (UTC)
raphiael: (Klein)
From: [personal profile] raphiael
Yeah, I felt like the only time I could really specifically say I really had any connection to Celice was in his conversation with Mana. I liked the Levin scenes, but. . . mostly for Levin, like you said. He still seems like he has a bit more meat to him than his dad, but that's really not saying much-- and it's not just FE4's scanter script, either, I don't think.

I have seen some comparisons made between Celice and Eliwood, given the whole "gentlemanly" demeanor, but I think you pinned down exactly why that didn't click for me. Eliwood might be a romantic, but there's still a lot of him in his romantic interactions. There isn't so much with Celice.

Actually, that makes me think -- Roy's "harem" conversations, outside Lilina, are a lot like that, too. Maybe that's a more fair comparison, especially with FE6 going on about Eliwood as a knight, rather than as his role as marquess.

Date: 2012-08-16 08:09 am (UTC)
amielleon: Ike from Fire Emblem 10. (Ike: Walk the Line)
From: [personal profile] amielleon
Celice is the flawless Nice Guy. Time to do some hard drugs, kid.

Date: 2012-08-16 12:07 pm (UTC)
samuraiter: (Default)
From: [personal profile] samuraiter
Celice. Doesn't.

*steeples fingers*

Sounds like a recipe for madness in old age, if you ask me. That, or he's begging for a stronger, more forceful person to supplant him when the timing's right.

Date: 2014-02-05 09:45 am (UTC)
From: [personal profile] gilasen
(same goes for Joshua in FE8, minus the incest)

I'm curious about this. What happened with that? Did Josh have babies with Natasha AND Marisa?
Edited Date: 2014-02-05 09:45 am (UTC)

Profile

mark_asphodel: Sage King Leaf (Default)
mark_asphodel

February 2019

S M T W T F S
      12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
2425262728  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 08:27 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios